Advisory Council

Since 1975, SAB’s Advisory Council has grown the School’s influence across the nation.

Today’s Advisory Council is made up of more than 50 members from throughout New York City and across the country with a shared passion for dance.

Members meet twice annually to ensure and help continue the growth and purpose of SAB while enjoying social and educational activities. In addition to the lifelong friendships formed in the group, members also benefit from an array of behind-the-scenes experiences to engage more deeply in New York City’s rich cultural opportunities.

The commitment of the Council’s members provides needed scholarship support for talented young dancers through the Advisory Council Scholarship Fund. Advisory Council scholarship recipients have come from 7 countries and 25 states, and have gone on to perform at prestigious ballet companies around the world including American Ballet Theatre, Birmingham Royal Ballet, Miami City Ballet, New York City Ballet, Pacific Northwest Ballet, and many more.

Advisory Council Members

Kellie Johnson Abreu, Co-Chair, CA

Stacey C. Morse, Co-Chair, NY

Nurit Amdur, NY

Elisabeth M. Armstrong, TX

Susan J. Campbell, NY

Laura G. Carr, NY

Shannon Caspersen, NY

Maggie Chong, NY

Linda Daines, NY

Jacqueline Erdman, WY

Uzochi Ndukwe Erlingsson, MA

Frances D. Fergusson, FL

Karen Groeger, NY

Liz Groeger*, CA

Lucy Hardison, NC

Christine Hessler, CA

Cheryl Huntsman, UT

Elizabeth Joyce, NJ 

Susannah A. Kagan, NY

Leslie Kavanaugh, FL

Cynthia Ketchum, NY

Linda D. Kofmehl, NY

Barbara W. Lehman, NY

Elizabeth D. Leykum*, TX

Allison Lyneham*, OR

Nancy S. MacMillan, NJ

Jennifer Malherbe, NY

Lyn M. McHugh, NY

Andrea Mendell, NY

Pam Miles, IL

Susan Frame Millstein, NY

Christine Morenz, TX

Ellen L. Needham, NY

Barbara Netter, CT

Sylvia Oberwager, NY

Susan C. Orb, CA

Carolyn Parkerson, MO

Madeleine Plonsker, IL

Bonnie Pope, NY

Elisa Pye, TX

Shari H. Quinney, UT

Caro U. Rock, PA

Eve S. Rounds*, MA

Katherine Sakoda*, CA

Sally Shreeves, NY

Candice Steller, NJ

Barbara Apple Sullivan, NY

Elizabeth Farran Tozer, NY

Christine Underwood, TX

Mary Van Pelt, RI

Lisa J. Walsh, NY

Charmaine Waterfield, FL

Cecily Waud, NY

Regina A. Weingarten, CA

Felecia Weiss, NY

Barbara Wright, NY

*SAB alumna


Please note that members may be unable to make their contribution via a Donor Advised Fund due to the fair market value of the benefits offered, unless the member wishes to waive the offered benefits.

Advisory Council Activities

Header image © Paul Kolnik; NEW SLEEP choreography by William Forsythe
Group shot by Erin Baiano